EFTF2016 logo
University of York logo logo

30th European Frequency and Time Forum


We are pleased to announce that the following awards, sponsored by the UK National Physical Laboratory, will be presented at EFTF 2016:

Harald SchnatzEuropean Frequency and Time Award

Harald Schnatz
"For his seminal contributions to different but interrelated fields of most accurate time and frequency measurements and dissemination in particular the first phase coherent measurement of a frequency standard in the visible and the dissemination of stable and accurate frequencies via optical fibre networks."

Nils HuntemannEFTF Young Scientist Award

Nils Huntemann
"For the development and evaluation of an optical clock based on the octupole transition in a single 171Yb+ ion with an uncertainty at the 10-18 level."

The prizewinners were selected by the Executive Committee of the EFTF. For a list of the previous winners, please click here

For more details of the awards, see below:

European Frequency and Time Award

The award, which is open to anyone working in the fields traditionally associated with the European Frequency and Time Forum (EFTF), recognises outstanding contributions in all fields covered by the EFTF, either for fundamental advances or important applications. The significance of contributions includes the degree of initiative and creativity, the quality of work, the degree of success obtained, as well as the worldwide scientific impact on the Time and Frequency Community. The European Frequency and Time Award has been awarded since 1993, first biannually, and from 2005 annually.

EFTF Young Scientist Award

The EFTF Young Scientist Award is conferred in recognition of a personal contribution that demonstrated a high degree of initiative and creativity and led to already-established or easily-foreseeable outstanding advances in the field of time and frequency metrology. The award honours a person under the age of 40 at the date of the opening session of the conference. The goal is to encourage scientific endeavour and competition and to help young scientists along their career paths.